Beantwoord

Please help - simcard blocked + extremely high consumption costs, what is going on?

• 20 August 2023
  • 1 reactie
  • 66 Bekeken

I was surprised to see that I have over 200 euros to pay for my phone bill. I am a student and I don’t even have that much in my bank account to pay for such a bill. I truly cannot afford to pay for this.

I was not expecting these charges, nor was I expecting this kind of increase in data out of nowhere. Just today I saw that 3GB was used alone, leading to 23GB out of 20GB being used. I was using my phone normally and so this is strange to me.

I am also confused that I received an email that my data consumption is too high after my phone bill had exceeded 100 euros. Then, when I had gone onto my phone, the mobile data off, and logged into Simyo, I received another email stating that I now have a bill of over 250 euros. I am confused about how it is possible that in the time span between one email and the next I suddenly owe that much when I had not even been using data. There must be an issue with these costs. 

I am deeply disappointed in these high charges and do not understand how a pricing model like this is considered legal. 

It would be greatly appreciated if you could get back to me soon. Thank you :(

icon

Beste antwoord door Seren 21 August 2023, 14:20

Bekijk originele reactie

1 reactie

Reputatie 7
Badge +6

Hi @polishtaco 

Thank you for your message. I'm sorry to hear about the high costs that were incurred. At Simyo we do not have a data stop, but we do send several warnings once you reach the usage of 80% and 100% of your bundle. Have you seen these messages? Besides the warning messages, we block your sim card when you are €100 or €250 over your regular subscription. When a lot of data is being used in a short amount of time, it can take a while for the system to process it. This explains why you saw the bill go up to €250.